Motor Vehicle Trial Lawyers Association
The National Trial Lawyers
Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
NACDL
The National College for DUI Defense
Superior DUI Lawyers 2014
DUI Defense Lawyers Association
AVVO
National Academy of Motorcycle Injury Lawyers
NFL Alumni

Georgia DUI Penalties

Types of DUI Charges and Penalties in Georgia: 21 and Over

A blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher is considered DUI for drivers aged 21 or older. The following table summarizes standard penalties for those charged with a DUI when over 21 years of age.

First Offense in 10 Years
  • Fines from $300 to $1,000Jail time from 10 days to 1 year (A judge may suspend all but 24 hours.)
  • 40 hours of community service
  • Alcohol & Drug Evaluation and recommended treatment, which may be waived by court
  • Loss of license for 1 year (Most drivers are eligible to drive on a 120-day limited permit. At the end of 120 days, with completion of Driver’s Risk Reduction Program, your regular license can be rein- stated.)
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • Up to 1 year on probation
  • Misdemeanor conviction
Second Offense in 10 Years
  • Fines from $600 to $1,000
  • Jail time from 90 days to 1 year (A judge may suspend all but 72 hours.)
  • 30 days of community service
  • Alcohol & Drug Evaluation and recommended treatment, which may be waived by the court
  • Loss of license for 3 years (There is no reinstatement for 18 months, 12-month hard suspension and 6-month limited permit with installation of an Ignition Interlock Device and completion of Driver’s Risk Reduction Program.)
  • $310 license reinstatement fee
  • Reissued license will have a red stripe
  • Pay for your name, photo and address to be published in local newspaper
  • Surrender license plate (Co-owner of car or family member may be granted hardship license plate.)
  • Up to 1 year on probation
  • Misdemeanor conviction
Third Offense in 10 Years
  • Fines from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Jail time from 120 days to 1 year (A judge may suspend all but 15 days.)
  • 30 days of community service
  • Alcohol & Drug Evaluation and recommended treatment, which may be waived by court
  • Deemed habitual violator (HV) with license revoked for 5 years (A limited permit may be issued after 2 years upon completing Driver’s Risk Reduction Program, obtaining SR-22 insurance, and installing an Ignition Interlock Device.)
  • $410 license reinstatement fee
  • Surrender license plate (Co-owner of car or family member may be granted hardship license plate)
  • Pay for your name, photo and address to be published in local newspaper
  • Up to 1 year on probation
  • High and aggravated misdemeanor conviction
Fourth Offense in 10 Years

This will apply to any driving offense if the driver has been declared a habitual violator

  • Fines from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Jail time from 1 year to 5 years (A judge may suspend all but 90 days.)
  • 60 days of community service
  • Alcohol & Drug Evaluation and recommended treatment, which may be waived by the court
  • License may be suspended indefinitely
  • Vehicle may be confiscated
  • Completion of Driver’s Risk Reduction program
  • Up to 5 years on probation
  • A felony conviction
DUI Penalties for Individuals Under 21

On July 1, 1997, the Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act established zero tolerance as the DUI standard for drivers between the ages of 15 and 21. A blood alcohol content of 0.02% or higher is considered under the influence for drivers under the age of 21. The following summarizes standard penalties for those charged with a DUI who are under 21 years of age.

Blood Alcohol Content of 0.02% Through 0.07%

First Offense

  • 6-month hard license suspension (with no possibility of receiving a limited driving permit)
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • DUI School

Second Offense

  • 12 months hard license suspension (an interlock permit can be obtained after the one-year suspension has passed)
  • $310 license reinstatement fee
  • DUI school
  • Alcohol Addiction Evaluation
  • Interlock Device Installation
Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08% or Higher

First Offense

  • 12-month hard license suspension (with no possibility of receiving a limited driving permit)
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • DUI School

Second Offense

  • 12 months hard license suspension (an interlock permit can be obtained after the one-year suspension has passed)
  • $310 license reinstatement fee
  • DUI school
  • Alcohol Addiction Evaluation
  • Interlock Device Installation

If the offender is under the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Court due to age, the sentence will be served at a Youth Development Center if one is available in the offender’s county of residence. If one is not available, then the sentence will be served in the custody of the Sheriff. In all cases, the offender will be separated from the main prison population.

The Georgia Point System

Georgia uses a point system that assigns a point value to the majority of moving violations that can result in a traffic citation. The number of points for each offense ranges from 2 to 6. The system works in such a way that if a driver over the age of 21 accumulates 15 or more points in a 24-month period, their license is suspended. You may reduce the number of points on your license by successfully completing a certified defensive driving course and delivering the certificate of completion to the Georgia Department of Drivers Services (DDS), either by mail or in person.

The rules are roughly the same for drivers under the age of 21, although with a few extra nuances. Specifically, drivers under 21 who commit any violation worth 4 points will have their license suspended.

Contact Our Atlanta, Georgia DUI Attorneys Today

As you can see, the penalties for a DUI conviction can be life changing. If you or someone you know has been arrested for driving under the influence, you need to hire a DUI defense attorney with years of experience representing clients charged with DUI offenses. Contact us today for a free consultation and see how the DUI lawyers with the Don Turner Legal Team can help you.

Client Reviews
★★★★★
My wife and I worked with Don on a personal injury case. We appreciate his help in helping us navigate something that neither of us anticipated dealing with. Him and his staff was helpful all along the way. Stephen Newland
★★★★★
I can’t say enough about Don and his team! If you need legal help this is the firm for you. Very professional and attentive and their willingness to take the time and explain each step along the way. Michele Mollon
★★★★★
We are very pleased with the service of the Don Turner Legal Team. They are a very friendly and professional team. Our case has been represented by Lisanne Edelman and she helped us enormously with a great end result. Marnix du Clou
★★★★★
I recently got a traffic citation and was all stressed out on what to do. Luckily, I had a friend who used the services of Lisanne Edelman and the firm at Don Turner Legal Team. Once I called I felt so much more comfortable with my situation and could take a big sigh of relief. Terry Sharp