An arrest for driving under the influence in Georgia is a very serious matter. Regardless of whether it’s your first DUI charge, or you’ve had multiple DUI’s, the consequences are significant and you will need a good Georgia DUI attorney to help. We have won many of our DUI cases and dramatically reduced the fines and penalties in others. With 35 years of experience in the Atlanta area, we know the system and will work with the courts to get you the best outcome. When you need the best DUI defense, you need someone that knows how to win – you need Don Turner.
A DUI arrest can happen to anyone and could cost you thousands of dollars, possible jail time, and strict conditions on your driver’s license!
DUI arrests are on the rise in Georgia. Why? Because the pressure to arrest and convict DUI offenders is enormous. Due to the number of tragic, often fatal, traffic accidents involving alcohol or drugs, advocacy groups like MADD and SADD, the media, and public opinion have prompted legislators to enact stringent DUI laws. In response, Georgia’s DUI laws become tougher following each legislative session. The result? The urgency to increase convictions has clouded a fundamental issue in our democratic society: The presumption of innocence and proof beyond a reasonable doubt. It is not illegal to drink and drive—the issue is whether you are a less safe driver because of the alcohol or drugs you have consumed, thereby causing a safety hazard on the roads.Even one DUI can be too Much
The minimum penalty for a first-time DUI in Georgia is 24 hours in jail, a $300 fine and up to 12 months of license suspension. You will have 30 days from the date of your arrest to save your license. You can be subjected to license suspension for up to one year, although most drivers will be eligible to drive on a 120-day limited permit. After these 120 days have passed, you must complete a driver's risk reduction school and pay a reinstatement fee.
The penalties will grow stiffer for every DUI offense you have on your record. A second DUI conviction within ten years means a minimum penalty of 72 hours in jail, a $600 fine and 3 years of license suspension. You will face a hard suspension of your driving privileges for120 days and must install an ignition interlock device once you apply for a limited permit.
If it is your third DUI in ten years, the minimum penalties will be 15 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and 5 years of license suspension and your fourth DUI in ten years carries a minimum penalty of one year in jail, a $1,000 fine, and indefinite license suspension.
Currently, Georgia law does not allow for record restriction or expungement of DUI convictions – meaning this conviction will likely stay on your record forever.Don’t Take a DUI Charge Lightly Especially if it is Considered a Felony
Although a DUI charge is typically considered a misdemeanor, multiple DUIs or serious charges resulting from a DUI could result in a felony record. A DUI can be elevated to a felony if a passenger or another driver died or was severely injured, you have been declared a Habitual Violator (multiple prior DUI convictions or other serious traffic offenses within ten years) and get a DUI, or you have children in the car with you.
You can imagine how serious a felony DUI charge would be in terms of jail time, fines, and the impact it can have on all aspects of your life. Felony DUIs are not common, and it is even more important for you to seek the help of a DUI attorney.DUI Charges Aren’t Just for Alcohol and Illegal Drugs
When it comes to DUI’s, you mostly hear about cases that involve someone drinking too much alcohol, smoking marijuana or using some other form of illegal narcotic. But more and more people are being arrested for DUI with drugs because they took a drug that they had a prescription for. There aren’t any laws that prevent you from driving while taking medication but there are laws about driving under the influence of drugs whether they are prescribed or not. It is an important distinction and people get into a lot of trouble because they don’t realize the difference.
A lot of medicine labels will say something to the effect of “do not operate motor vehicle after taking". This does not mean it is illegal for you to drive - it is merely a precaution. However, if a police officer deems your driving to be “less safe” because of the influence of a prescription drug, they can charge you with DUI.Why Should You Hire The Don Turner Legal Team as Your DUI Defense Team?
Without an experienced and committed attorney by your side, your legal rights can easily be overlooked as law enforcement and the courts demonstrate to elected officials an increase in DUI convictions. Without a solid defense strategy, you will likely become a statistic.
You don’t want to be just a number. And you can’t afford to make a mistake when choosing legal representation. The Don Turner Legal Team will stand up for you. When you choose our firm, we go the extra mile to provide you with the support and attention you’ll need throughout the legal process. And we do whatever it takes to minimize the negative impact of your DUI.