Traffic Tickets and Points

There are numerous types of traffic tickets an individual can get: speeding, following too close, failure to obey traffic control device, improper passing of a school bus, etc.  If convicted of the violation, you’re more than likely facing points to your driver’s license.

Below is a chart from the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services indicating how many points come with each traffic ticket:

Screen 20shot 202016 11 12 20at 203.22.26 20pm

Commonly asked questions:

(1) What are “points” on my license?

In Georgia, points can be added to your license for various violations and the point sentences range from 1-6 points.

(2) How many points before my license gets suspended?

Under 18 Years of Age:

If you are under 18 years of age, your Georgia driver’s license will be suspended if you accumulate 4 points in a 12 month period.  Your license will be suspended for at least 6 months (depending on the type of charge).  No limited permit or early reinstatement is available.  More than likely, a driver under 18 who has received 4 or more points, will likely have to complete a Defensive Driving class, pay significant reinstatement fees, and possibly have to retake the driving exam – all after the mandatory hard suspension period.

Over 18 Years of Age:

If you are over 18 years old, 15 or more points in a 24 month period will more than likely suspend your driver’s license.

For more information on common traffic citations in Georgia, check out our other pages:

Georgia’s Move Over Law Ticket

Passing a School Bus

Juvenile Traffic Citations

Top