Motor Vehicle Trial Lawyers Association
The National Trial Lawyers
Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
NACDL
The National College for DUI Defense
Superior DUI Lawyers 2014
DUI Defense Lawyers Association
AVVO
National Academy of Motorcycle Injury Lawyers

missed-court-date-don-turner-legal-team-400x400

If you missed your court date for a criminal matter in Georgia should consult with an attorney as soon as possible to rectify the situation. Aside from the fact that missing court may have a negative effect on the outcome of your case, there may already be a warrant for your arrest. This could be true even if your appearance was only for a traffic ticket!

While both misdemeanors and felonies are crimes, a misdemeanor only carries a maximum possible jail time of 12 months. Misdemeanors include simple assault, petty theft, possession of marijuana less than one ounce, or driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Common felonies include murder, rape, arson, kidnapping, aggravated assault, and the sale of illegal drugs. Repeated DUIs may also be regarded as a felony which, in turn, will result in a much harsher punishment. A felony carries a possible jail sentence of more than 12 months. Fines for felonies are also considerably higher than those for misdemeanors.

What Happens When You Miss Your Court Date

gap-in-treatment-personal-injury-400x400

Georgia law allows injured parties two years to file a personal injury claim. But this does not mean that a person injured in an accident that was not their fault has two years to get medical treatment. In fact, if you don’t get treatment as soon as possible after the accident, and have gaps in ongoing treatment, your personal injury claim might be reduced as a result, or even thrown out of court.

What is a Gap in Treatment?

A gap in treatment is the term commonly used in the insurance industry to describe, quite literally, a gap or break in medical care after being injured in some sort of an accident.

documenting-personal-injury-case-400x400

Serious accidents of any kind are traumatic, draining, and very often costly. But there is something even more shocking when the accident isn’t your fault! While a personal injury claim can help victims recover medical costs, lost income, and go some way to alleviate pain and suffering, personal injury law is complex and it is vital to follow the correct procedures.

If you are injured in Georgia because of somebody else’s negligence, it is vital to contact an experienced Roswell personal injury attorney as soon as you can. While it is essential to report the accident to the police, never make statements to insurance companies or other parties until you have consulted your attorney.

Why Documenting Your Personal Injury Case is Important

statute-limitations-personal-injury-don-turner-400x400

If you want to lodge a personal injury claim in Georgia you have got some time to do it, but not a lot. The statute of limitations for personal injury specifies in legal terms just how long you have, depending on the type of injury sustained.

Most commonly, you have two years to file a personal injury claim in Georgia, but in some instances, you have less time and in others, more time.

So, for instance:

personal-injury-law-in-ga-don-turner-400x400

Accidents happen all the time. Some result in serious injuries, some are fatal. We can all be careful and take safety precautions whatever we do, but accidents and any personal injury that may result is not always the fault of the person who gets hurt.

If you are injured in an accident and decide to claim against the person you believe was responsible for your injuries, you (or rather your personal injury law attorney) will have to prove that this person was, in fact, negligent and therefore liable for damages.

Personal Injury Law in Georgia

GA Personal Injury Negligence | Don Turner Legal

You might imagine that the “negligence factor” is a no-brainer when it comes to Georgia personal injury law. After all, if someone else did something that caused you harm they must be held responsible. But liability is not that simple, so if you or a loved one is injured, the negligence factor is a vital element.

All personal injury cases rely on two primary factors for injury claims and settlement. You will need to consult with a Georgia (GA) personal injury law attorney to proceed with a claim in court or to fight a claim against you. But it helps to know key factors that relate to Georgia personal injury law and the way the negligence factor works.

The Negligence Factor in US Personal Injury Law

new-georgia-distracted-driving-law-400x400

Did you know that Georgia has a new Distracted Driving Law? The Georgia Legislature recently passed House Bill 673, also known as the new Georgia Distracted Driving Law, which prohibits motorists from handling their cell phones or any electronic devices that may distract them while driving.

This does not necessarily mean that motorists cannot use their cell phones or other electronic devices while operating their vehicle, but it does require drivers to utilize hands-free technology.

Under the new Georgia Distracted Driving Law drivers are now prohibited from doing the following things, although this is not an exhaustive list:

don-turner-fast-facts-drunk-driving-ga-400x400

Drunk driving is a major problem on the roads of Georgia and across the nation. Though incidents are on the decline, hundreds of thousands of people every year are still injured and killed in car accidents related to drinking and driving. The scary thing is, though, that many people are unfairly charged with DUI every year.

If you’re arrested and charged with drunk driving, it’s important to remember that you have rights. Learn a few fast facts about drunk driving in Georgia, and what to do to protect yourself if you are unfairly arrested and charged with a DUI in this state.

  • Drunk Driving in Georgia

uninsured-motorist-400x400

This question is very common. Nearly 12% of all Georgia drivers do not have car insurance coverage.  This means that if you are involved in an accident, there is a 1 in 8 chance that the other driver will be someone who does not have proper insurance to cover the expenses that result from the accident.

What does the law require?

Georgia law requires that all drivers have the following coverage for their vehicles:

slip-and-fall-accident-attorney-don-turner-legal-team-400x400

Slip and fall accidents are a leading cause of emergency room visits and the main cause for missed workdays.  If you have been injured in a slip and fall accident, then you have likely missed work for medical appointments and to adequately recover from your injuries. You can potentially seek a settlement for damages if another party was responsible for your accident, because many accidents can be prevented if the owner of the property takes care to ensure that an area is safe.

You may be entitled to recover the costs of medical care and lost wages, amongst other damages.  An experienced attorney can help protect your rights and recover these damages for you.

Common Causes of Slip and Fall Accidents

Contact Information