Articles Posted in News

When you’re dealing with an insurance company after a motorcycle accident, they will have a lot of questions for you. They’ll be asking about the incident itself, your medical history and perhaps your driving record. Yet, it’s a negotiation process. You should have some questions for the insurance company as well. A good personal injury or motorcycle accident lawyer can tell you what you need to ask the insurer for the liable person, or they can ask them on your behalf.

  1. Ask the insurance company for some written evidence of the policy specifics of the person liable for the accident. This can be a copy of their policy or a “declaration sheet.” The declaration sheet (or page) is a summary of the policy, including the policy limits.
  2. Additionally, you can ask them whether they have set a reserve amount for your case to satisfy the settlement amount. If they have not, perhaps you can surmise that they are planning on arguing that the accident was your fault.


There’s been an accident and the parties involved agree to a settlement. But the question is: does this settlement need to be in writing or is a verbal settlement agreement acceptable?

When two parties agree to the conditions of a personal injury case they can do so verbally or in writing. A written agreement may be easier to prove, but that doesn’t make the verbal agreement any less binding. Thus, the quick answer is: yes, verbal settlement agreements are acceptable. But it might be more difficult to enforce – and it might involve a court case if one or other party changes their mind about the verbal agreement.

In most cases, there will be insurance policies that cover both the injured party and the person deemed to be at fault. An insurance adjuster will deal with the claim and will often get the parties involved to verbally agree on a settlement, trusting that the settlement agreement is fair. But it may not be, which is why it’s a good idea to handle settlements with the guidance of a personal injury attorney.


Accidents happen all the time. Some result in serious injuries, some are fatal. We can all be careful and take safety precautions whatever we do, but accidents and any personal injury that may result is not always the fault of the person who gets hurt.

If you are injured in an accident and decide to claim against the person you believe was responsible for your injuries, you (or rather your personal injury law attorney) will have to prove that this person was, in fact, negligent and therefore liable for damages.

Personal Injury Law in Georgia


You may have heard that Atlanta recently passed a city ordinance that “decriminalizes” the possession of marijuana, but what exactly does that mean?

The Atlanta City Council recently voted unanimously to make the penalty for possession of one ounce or less a mere $75.00 fine. That is a big change from the former sentence that included a possible 6-month jail term and a fine of up to $1,000.00. It is important to note, however, that this new ordinance does not make the possession of one ounce or less of marijuana legal. It is still illegal, but the criminal penalty is now significantly less.

Read more about the vote from The Atlanta City Council Here.


Georgia cyber crime law distinguishes criminal acts of stalking, harassment, and intimidation by way of computer, computer network, or other electronic communication device. Telephones are considered cyber devices.

Communication could be by email, social media platform, or another application that accesses the internet. Cyber crimes can be prosecuted as misdemeanors or felonies depending on the seriousness of the crime.

What is the difference between cyber stalking and cyber harassment?


Laws governing a minor in possession of alcohol, underage consumption, and underage DUIs are harsh. In these laws, a minor refers to anyone who has not reached the legal drinking age of 21.

The state of Georgia has a zero tolerance policy on minors who drive under the influence. Minors are prohibited to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration greater then 0.02. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) estimates that 10% of all teens in high school will drink and drive at least once.

Being charged with a DUI could put up roadblocks to your future. A DUI arrest will appear on your record immediately. Colleges, insurance companies, and employers will be able to see your arrest and may not be willing to look past it.


If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in the state of Georgia, chances are you will be sentenced to probation for a period of time instead of or after serving time in jail. During probation, you are required to abide by certain rules and regulations that are often strictly enforced. Violating these rules could cause you to face increased penalties and even warrant for your arrest.

What is Considered Violating Probation?

There are three kinds of probation violation in Georgia:


McAllister v. Georgia (2006) allows law enforcement to take a blood sample from someone arrested for DUI who has refused to take a chemical breath test under Georgia’s law of implied consent. The officer must obtain a search warrant and, like any procedure related to a DUI arrest, the blood test must be properly conducted.

How can a police officer force me to take a blood test?

In order for a blood sample to be taken, a police officer must ask a judge to issue a search warrant. For this to happen, the arresting officer must provide sufficient evidence of intoxication. If a judge grants the warrant, an officer can legally obtain a blood sample, and you are legally obligated to submit to the test.


The police arrive at your front door after receiving a call. They ask if they can come inside but don’t have a warrant. The decision you must make is very important. Should you let them inside or refuse?

Many people believe they must always let law enforcement in. Most attorneys would advise you against allowing law enforcement to search in or around your home without a warrant. Be polite but say no and clearly refuse to give consent to a search. Why? You have a constitutional right under the Fourth Amendment against such practices.

If you give police consent to search your home, you are waiving your protection. With this consent, anything illegal or pointing to a crime found in the home can be taken as evidence and used against you in court.

Contact Information