The City of Roswell, located in Fulton County, Georgia, prosecutes many different types of misdemeanor crimes including Driving Under the Influence (DUI), shoplifting, underage possession of alcohol, traffic tickets, and possession of marijuana less than an ouunce. It is in your best interest to hire an experienced Roswell, Georgia, Lawyer to help you with your case.
If you are charged with a crime or traffic ticket in Roswell, and are arrested, you will likely be able to receive a bond rather quickly. Click here to download our free Booklet on How to Bond out of Jail for more information.
Roswell Municipal Court Address:
Roswell City Hall
38 Hill Street Roswell, Georgia 30075
Judges and Solicitor(s)
Judge Brian Hansford
Solicitor Krista Young
CAUTION: Georgia's 10-Day Rule regarding your license:
By law you have only 10 business days from the date of your arrest to save your license! If you are charged with a DUI and refused to take a breath, blood or urine test, or if your test results indicated your blood-alcohol level was 0.08 or higher, you must request a special hearing with the Department of Public Safety in order to appeal your automatic license suspension.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, it is in your best interest to contact an Attorney who practices DUI Defense work - this will ensure that your rights are protected and your case is given the best evaluation possible. After you are arrested, you will be typically granted a bond rather quickly - certain situations, such as other agency holds or other charges, may delay this process.
Regardless of where you're arrested for a DUI, the penalties are state-mandated and will be generally the same in the municipal courts or other jurisdictions. However, the municipal courts, like Roswell Municipal Court, do not hold jury trials. Therefore, you always have the option of demanding a jury trial and binding your case over to the State Court. Roswell Municipal Court lies in Fulton County so a case would be bound over to the Fulton County State Court.
Standard Roswell, Georgia DUI Penalties for Someone 21 and Older
First Offense in 10 years
Fines from $300 to $1,000
Jail time from 10 days to 1 year (A judge may suspend all but 24 hours.)
40 hours of community service
Alcohol & Drug Evaluation and recommended treatment, which may be waived by court
Loss of license for 1 year (Most drivers are eligible to drive on a 120-day limited permit. At the end of 120 days, with completion of a Driver's Risk Reduction Program, your regular license can be reinstated.)
$210 license reinstatement fee
Up to 1 year on probation
A DUI arrest in Georgia is a very serious matter. Regardless if it's your first DUI charge, or you've had multiple DUIs, the consequences are significant and you will need a good Georgia DUI attorney to help. We have won many of our DUI cases and dramatically reduced the fines and penalties in others. With 35 years experience in the Atlanta area we know the system and will work with the courts to get you the best outcome. When you need the best DUI defense, you need someone that knows how to win – you need The Don Turner Legal Team.
Download our free Booklet on DUI Penalties!