If you have received a ticket for DUI in Georgia, it's no laughing matter. Georgia has cracked down on drunk driving in recent years and the penalties can be substantial. Without the help of an experienced DUI attorney, you could be facing thousands of dollars worth of fines, loss of license and even a few years of jail time. If you have received a ticket for DUI in Georgia then you need to contact a DUI lawyer immediately.
Penalties and fines will vary according to how many DUI's you have had over the past ten years. It breaks down like this:
- First DUI – You could receive up to a year in jail, a 1,000 dollar fine and a year of license suspension
- Second DUI – You could receive up to a year in jail, a 1,000 dollar fine and 3 years of license suspension
- Third DUI – You could receive up to a year in jail, a 5,000 dollar fine and 5 years of license suspension
- Fourth DUI – You could receive up to 5 years in jail, a 5,000 dollar fine and indefinite license suspension
When it comes to DUI law in Georgia, the most common question people ask is “How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit?” The short answer is that it shouldn't matter because you should not be getting behind a wheel if you have been drinking at all. It is safer for everyone involved.
The real answer is hard to give because it depends on so many different variables. What could be too much for you may not be too much for someone else because of the differences in weight, percentage of body fat and length of time between drinks. Some studies have shown that your BAC can go up as much as .05 percent per drink so it doesn't take very long to go over the legal limit.